top of page

Assignment 26: Mentorship Reflection

I have been able to gain the experience of understanding two different components of what I care about. The fact that I have a love and passion for health and fitness in addition to my desire to become an entrepreneur, made the experience of HMP very special. Not only was able to gain insight behind the scenes of how a business operates, but I was able to understand that communication and community is what builds trust in a brand. In addition to this, I was able to learn more about the health and fitness industry that is a very complex and saturated market. Understanding something that is unique and different allows for me to stand out when marketing myself. At the end of my mentorship, my mentor spoke to me regarding the fact that any contact he has is also my own. Being able to develop trust and communication and someone that I have respect for granted me the opportunity to build many new relationships that I never thought I would be able to. I believe that speaking to my mentor and truly opening up with the questions that I had gave myself a better understanding of what I was looking for. The fact that I was open and outgoing it made the relationship between the two of us very open. One who understands and industry always looks to share and open up because it is something that they care about. Having someone else that also shares that love and passion who is curious, makes the match perfect. The mentor is able to share because the mentee is asking and curious. The mentor ship has prepared me for the future because I understand more about building a brand through community work. I have learned that if one is able to develop trust in the customer, the customer has a desire to continue the practice with that business owner. In the conclusion of my mentorship, I continue with the belief that I would like to own my own business. In terms of the fitness side of my mentorship, I don’t feel as though it will be the business that I will open one day. Despite my love and care for the work, it may just not be my forte when starting a business. I feel that this is necessary because it gave me a taste of truly what the business meant. In terms of advice for future students, I would say to be outgoing and don’t be shy. The people that you are associated with people who understand something that you care about and that you may want to do for the rest of your life. Take that opportunity to dive into what you care about because I guarantee it is something they would like to share as well. Everybody likes talking about something that they love. Put your mentor in a position where they are able to talk about why they do what they do because you may share that same believes and potential to go on to making it your full-time career.


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page